Presidential Inauguration

The inauguration of the President will take place on Friday, 20 January 2017 and will be the fifty-eighth Presidential Inauguration.

Related websites

Inauguration Quick Facts


President Donald J. Trump, the 45th President of the United States, and Vice President Mike Pence.


The swearing-in of the President of the United States occurs upon the commencement of a new term of a President of the United States. The Vice President is sworn in first, followed by the President.


12:00 p.m EST (1700 GMT)., January 20th, 2017.


West Front of the U.S. Capitol Building, with the oath administered by the Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court.


The Constitution stipulates that the new President must make the following oath:

“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the Office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my Ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.”